Pick a Card, My Dear

Sudden Downpour

It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. Tell us what happens next!

“Good afternoon. How may I help you dear?” the little old lady asked as she stood up from behind her counter.

“Oh nothing. I got caught in the rain and your shop was the closest. If you don’t mind I will just look around until the rain dies down.” I said.

“Of course dear. Would you like some tea?” I agreed to the tea and she handed me a cup of delicious peppermint tea. “This kind of tea is my favorite,” I said.

“I know,” she responded. My eyebrows slowly rose and the hair on the back of my neck prickled. “You do?” I asked.

“Of course. I have been waiting for you. I have watched you walk by my shop every day and I knew that one day you would come in and that day is today.” I walked over to the counter and peered at the lady. I noticed a deck of tarot cards splayed out in front of her. The next thing I noticed was the she was blind. I took a cautious step back.

“Do not be alarmed my dear. Please, pick a card,” she said as she waived her weathered bone white hand over the tarot cards. I stepped back up to the counter and began to select a card at random. “No, no, no. Feel the cards. Close your eyes and feel the cards. Run your hand over them and choose a card. You will know which one to choose.” As the woman could not see I had no idea how she knew what I was doing but I closed my eyes and ran my hand along the cards. I felt a sudden vibration in the palm of my hand and selected that card. “Good,” the old woman said. She took the card from me and laid it out on the counter.

“Ah yes. This card tell of hidden potential and danger. It is what I expected from you, but now I am certain. Many changes are about to happen my dear. Be ready. When the time comes come back and see me. I believe the rain has stopped.” Confused by what the woman had just told me I turned to find the rain had indeed stopped. “I’m sorry, but I’m confused,” I said but stopped short when I turned back to the woman to find no one there. The tarot cards had also vanished. I looked around quickly thinking that perhaps she had moved but no one was there. I slowly backed my way to the door and quickly slipped through it. The sun was back out and it gave me some comfort. “What had the woman meant? Where did she go? What just happened?” where the questions running through my mind as I walked away from the store. I turned to look back at the old antique shop one more time only to find an empty store front with a for rent sign covered in cob webs.

Leave a Reply

